Technical Standards

Technical Standards Overview

The EnviroDevelopment standards have been designed to be flexible, to encourage innovation and to avoid any unintended negative outcomes that can sometimes result when standards or regulations are overly prescriptive. EnviroDevelopment standards aim to recognise the performance of a development in achieving broad environmental goals, whilst facilitating the most appropriate or innovative method to be chosen for individual situations.

The EnviroDevelopment National Technical Standards, as of Version 2, are specifically tailored to nine different development types. These development types are as follows:
Masterplanned Communities - Projects primarily used for residential purposes and containing more than 1,500 dwellings.
Residential Subdivision - Projects primarily used for residential purposes and containing less than or equal to 1,500 dwellings.
Seniors Living - Projects primarily used for seniors living or retirement living.
Multi-Unit Residential - Projects with two or more attached dwellings.
Mixed Use - Projects with a mix of commercial, residential and retail uses.
Industrial - Projects primarily used for industrial purposes.
Retail - Projects primarily used for retail purposes.
Education - Projects primarily used for educational purposes (e.g. primary or secondary school campuses or buildings, university campuses or buildings)
Health & Aged Care - Projects primarily used for healthcare and aged care purposes (e.g. hospitals, medical centres, aged care facilities).

Download the Current EnviroDevelopment Technical Standards

Alternatively, download the relevant development type Technical Standard below.

The EnviroDevelopment Technical Standards will be reviewed periodically as required to ensure that the criteria are appropriate in light of new technology, regulation or standard practices. Where EnviroDevelopment applications are received which demonstrate exceptional environmental performance, equivalent to or exceeding the standards required for certification but which fail to comply with the existing detail of the EnviroDevelopment criteria, in exceptional circumstances and at the discretion of the EnviroDevelopment Board of Management, this may trigger a review of the EnviroDevelopment standards and the certification may be approved.

When the EnviroDevelopment Technical Standards are reviewed and a revised set of standards is released, a current certified EnviroDevelopment is required to demonstrate as part of the annual recertification process how the development's future stages will comply with the revised EnviroDevelopment Technical Standards. The revised standards will not apply retrospectively (i.e. to those dwellings / buildings already approved / built) and applicants will not be required to undertake further baseline studies such as further baseline ecological assessment studies. The EnviroDevelopment Board of Management shall retain the right to vary or amend the application of this requirement at its absolute discretion.



© 2011 EnviroDevelopment | Privacy and disclaimer